What’s Your Passion?

I have been spending these last few months researching Social Capitalism, Social Business, and Social Entrepreneurship. I guess I have been obsessed with this. I am trying to figure out what it means to be a Christian that teaches business. I worked in industry for 40 years, and I was a Christian for 36 of them. I made a little money, made some friends, gave some of the money away, paid for kids, bought some things, all the time wondering what my responsibility was to the community.
Yesterday a colleague and I contacted a person who teaches Social Entrepreneurship at Eastern University. Her passion for teaching has led her from a career in business to teaching the principles of Business as mission. As we discussed this I asked her what that meant? As she answered I thought of the Tentmaker group from years ago that would send people all over the world to work within their industry. Its not that they would overtly evangelize, but they would live their lives and faith in cross cultural expressions that would demonstrate Christianity to people. This intrigues me.

However, after the conversation I had to think about my passions. What do I really love teaching and discussing in my classes? What is it that I want to accomplish from this point on in my academic career? As I solidify this in my mind I will be changing my bio on the Warner Pacific website.

Number one, I am passionate about my relationship with Jesus Christ. He is the driver for my life. When I die I want to hear the words “well done My good and faithful servant.” Therefore, I want to live my faith in front of my students. This does not mean that I will preach turn or burn at them. I am just going to live my life in front of them and be authentic, warts and all.

Number two, I am passionate about reading and thinking. I want my students to learn how to learn. I don’t want them to just fill in boxes on spreadsheets, I want them to be able to think about the weightier elements of business. This means not just doing business the right way, but doing the right business. I want them to be ethical business people who are willing to challenge injustice where ever they see it.

Number three, I am passionate about the principles of free enterprise and its ability to create positive change. There are so many examples of how Social Business can improve a person’s standard of living, and I want to be a part of this discussion.

There are many ways that we can apply Social Capitalism, Social Business, and Social Entrepreneurship. It can be a non-profit expression, a governmental expression, or a for-profit choice. My passion is the for-profit choice. I want to research and teach the ability to make a profit and then do good with it.

As I have stated earlier in my blog I believe it is our responsibility to respond to the need around us. Jesus Christ stated in Luke 12:48 “to whom much is given, much is required.” As we make profit, and we should, we are required to do good with it.

There you have it, that is my passion.

And that is my thought for the day!

Leave a Reply

