ENACTUS And Social Entrepreneurship

It is Saturday morning, and I woke up a bit too early. I’ve had my coffee, read my newspapers, meditated on the Word of God, and prayed a bit. While I am sitting here thinking about the day, I lose myself to two activities that I am pleased to be a part of, ENACTUS (formally SIFE) and Social Entrepreneurship.

Students In Free Enterprise (SIFE) has changed its name to ENACTUS, a semi-acronym for Entrepreneurial, Action, by US. I have been involved with it for four years, and have found the experience rewarding. However, this year seems to be the most rewarding yet. So I am pondering why it seems to be more enjoyable this year?

In any event leadership plays a seminal role; leadership will produce either success or failure. I believe that this is the reason I seem to have such a high level of satisfaction. Student leadership, along with the business communities willingness to get involved with our students, has made this year one that will stand out in my memory.

The student board, two young women and four young men, are stepping up and getting us organized at a level that have not been accomplished before. The President has emerged as a leader who has been able to pull the group together, creating a high performing team. They have also created an incredible succession plan for ensuring the club continues to thrive as they graduate. We are having some of the best meetings the club has had since its inception, and the team has committed to some great projects. I am proud of this team.

The second project I am excited about this year is the establishment of a major in Social Entrepreneurship. The college where I teach has chosen to implement a degree that will help students prepare for entrepreneurial endeavors that will help revolutionize communities. I have been working on this for over a year and it appears that it will be implemented starting in August of 2013.

This major will produce students that have strong business skills, while understanding what it means to start a small business. They will develop comprehensive skills in small business management, while creating the networks needed to get their projects off the ground. They will also develop a foundation for the why of doing business, which involves the ability to change the world for the better.

I have already had two students tell me they want to change their major to the new one. I have a feeling this could be the start of something big. I believe that a certain type of student chooses to attend the college where I teach. I believe they choose our school because they want to get a good education, but they also want to make a difference in this world. This degree will help them do both.

And that is my thought for the day!

Leave a Reply

