He Is Risen! He Is Risen Indeed!

So, I am sitting in Church this morning, and I start thinking about my mom. I remember one year when she came to Vancouver to visit. It was Easter, and we went to Church. The pastor was preaching about the resurrection. After the service I asked my mom what she thought. She said, how many times can He die and rise again? We giggled and then had some great food. This morning I thought about that as Pastor Don gave an excellent sermon on the resurrection of Jesus from the dead.

Here are my thoughts about today. As the Apostle Paul wrote in First Corinthians 15, if Jesus did not rise from the dead; then all of the preaching of history about Christianity is vain; and all of us who profess Christ are liars! And to top it all off, if He did not rise from the dead, then we are foolish because we should just do whatever we want to do. But the fact is, the tomb is empty. He has risen. This reality hit me in an amazing new way this morning.

I have equated some events in my past as similar to what Esau did when he came home from a hunt and was hungry. Jacob was cooking a meal, Esau was hungry and asked Jacob for some of his food. Jacob said if Esau gave him his birthright, as the oldest, Jacob would give him some food. Esau said yes, and gave up his birthright, something extremely important, for a bowl of porridge. This is one of the truly tragic stories in the Bible. There are events in my past where I have felt that I sold my birthright for something insignificant.

These feelings come and go along with life’s daily grind, however, this morning I saw how Jesus looks at those events. This is why this Easter was so different for me. I have been walking with Jesus for forty years, and this year was not another one where I say to myself how many times can he rise from the dead. He has risen, and that is why Christianity is true. He has risen, which is why I can say that no matter how many times I attempt to sell my birthright for a bowl of porridge I can find forgiveness.

My birthright has been bought by something more valuable that my life, it was bought with the life of Jesus Christ. The fact that His rose changed everything and continues to change everything! I have hope, not only in this life, but in the life to come.

He is risen! He is risen indeed! I believe that! This is a new Easter, and a new life!

And that is my thought for the day!

Leave a Reply

