Annette Funicello And Margret Thatcher

Women have an important role to play in this world. Only a woman can bear a child. All mothers are women and subsequently have a huge impact on their children. My mother had a lot to do with who I am today. Two women died this week, and both of them were influential in my life, just at different times.

As a child I enjoyed watching the Mickey Mouse Club. Clean values displayed by wonderful characters. I have to admit though; initially I liked Darlene more than I liked Annette. I spent many hours watching how these young people would do the right thing no matter what the situation was. For 1959 it was amazing stuff.

A little later is when I decided that I liked Annette. In the 60’s movies such as Beach Party came out, and the boomers were exposed to Little Stevie Wonder and Dick Dale and his Deltones. In these great movies good always won, but even the bad guy, Eric Von Zipper, was really not that bad. These movies were fun, and helped me to be the freewheeling guy that I was and still am.

Now we need to get serious. Another woman had a huge affect on the way I think. Margret Thatcher, according to Paul Johnson, “had more impact on the world than any woman ruler since Catherine the Great.” Those words are grandiose, but in my opinion true. Her idea of Thatcherism was “and is pragmatic and empirical.” The question in my mind is, what is Thatcherism?

Thatcherism is a political conviction leading to low inflation, a small state, and free markets. Others have describe Thatcherism as including ideals such as “Free markets, financial discipline, firm control over public expenditure, tax cuts, nationalism, Victorian values (self-help variety), privatization and a dash of populism.” Others have tied her ideology to classical liberalism.

There does seem to be a connection of Thatcherism to Libertarianism. Libertarianism is a political philosophy that holds liberty as the highest political end. Thatcher however was a monetarist. This involves the role of government in controlling the quantity of money in circulation. It is concerned with the macroeconomic effects of the supply of money. It also is concerned about a central bank.

Thatcher fought labor unions to get the concessions needed to ensure the UK would stay solvent. This is the same battle that many of our governors and mayor are fighting today. When cities have overpromised what they can provide in a pension, politicians are practicing fiscal irresponsibility. This is what Thatcher fought against, among other things.

Mrs. Thatcher RIP, you deserve it.

And that is my thought for the day!

Leave a Reply

