Is The Pope Catholic?

I don’t know how many jokes include the punch-line, Is the Pope Catholic? However, Pope Francis is not a punch-line, he is a Pope that is attempting to reform the Catholic Church and maybe the “Catholic” church at large. This morning’s paper had a headline – “Pope to youth: Shake up the Church.” If history is any indicator of whether the youth will listen or not; I think it is safe to assume that the youth will shake up the Church.

Pope Francis told the youth, as he made his trek through the slums of Rio, to “make a mess in their dioceses by going out into the streets to spread the faith.” I have to admit this Pope seems to be different than those in the Catholic Church’s recent history. “He has broken long-held Vatican rules on everything from where he lays his head at night to how saints are made. He has cast of his security detail to get close to his flock, and his first international foray as Pope has shown the faithful appreciate his gesture.” This seems really exciting.

Although I am not Catholic, I must say I thought about the Pope as I was reading my Bible this morning. The passage I read was from Matthew Chapter 5:

Blessed are the poor in spirit,

For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn,

For they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek,

For they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,

For they shall be filled.

Blessed are the merciful,

For they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart,

For they shall see God.

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteous sake,

For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Pope Francis seems to recognize the importance of the beatitudes, or the attitude we should have, to be.

Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount gives us a strategy of living that is completely upside down to what everyone is telling us we should do. We are told to be aggressive, confident, and have a good time. We are told that “nobody can yell you what to do!” However, Pope Francis is living out the beatitudes for us. He is calling the Church to be what Jesus has told us to be. We are to be, “not of this world.”

Where does this play out in business? First, as a believer in business I think how we do the process of making money should include ethical and honest activity. There is no option here. Second, if I am a manager then how I manage my people will need to be inline with the model Jesus lays out for us, Servant Leadership.

When I was a manager I tried to treat my employees with respect and provide opportunities to do a good job. I served them as much as I could, and tried to be consistent and fair. I think that was how I lived out the beatitudes in my professional life.

So Pope Francis, keep up the good work. And to the youth of the Church, make a difference in the world by following Jesus Christ and doing what he has called us to do. And I am sure you will do it in your own way.

And that is my thought for the day!

 

Leave a Reply

