Congrats Diane Nyad! Let Freedom Ring!

I am beginning to love writing. It helps me develop my thoughts and learn about myself a bit. This morning I have been sitting here reading my Bible, my books, preparing for my classes today, and grading papers. And writing a blog. Not a bad morning.

I know I have to write about Diane Nyad the consummate baby-boomer. At 64 years old (she is two years older than me) Diane swam the channel between Cuba and Florida. She announced this was her fifth and last try; but she made it. Kudos to her and her team! “Thirty-five years after her first attempt she made it.” She swam for 53 hours covering over 100 miles, she looked exhausted, but she demonstrated the heart of the boomer. Even her comments afterward were illustrative of our generation. “I’ve got three messages. One is we should never ever give up. Two is you’re never too old to chase your dreams. Three is it looks like a solitary sport, but it is a team.” Good job Diane, and congrats to your team.

Now, it would be great to stop here, but there is another lesson nestled within the bosom of this story. It involves a system that allows us to purse our dreams. Economic and political freedom is the foundation of events such as this.

I reiterate, at least part of this success involves the political and economic freedoms we enjoy. Because our system allows choice, not a centrally planned future determined by some government, Diane was able to pursue her dreams.

It my estimation political and economic freedom is highly correlated. “A free market system is one which economic production and consumption are determined by the free choices of individuals rather than by governments.” Thus the freedom of choice concerning what we buy and when we buy it is highly connected to the fact that we have the freedom to choose what we do and when we do it. This system is “grounded in private ownership of the means of production. In very simple terms, in a free market system, people, not the government, own the farms and businesses. In addition, the people own themselves in the sense that they have freedom to choose where to work.” And they have the freedom to choose how they spend their leisure time.

So Diane, great job, and thanks for the lesson of life. We can attempt our dreams because we are free to do so.

And that is my thought for the day!

 

Leave a Reply

