Character!

Yesterday at Church my Pastor was discussing the heart. Jeremiah 17:9 states, “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” The heart in this case involves our decision making center. This center defines who we are as people. In other words it is about our character. Matthew 5: 13-16 states, “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.  You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on a stand and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

There are so many worlds that come to mind when I think about character. Honesty, kindness, gentleness, goodness, follow-through, integrity, and fairness, yet there are so many more words that could describe men and women of good character. However, even those who we see as good have a deceitful heart.

Just because we are incapable of always being good does not mean we should not try. Perfection is out of our reach, but attempting to have character is not. I just watched two Super Bowl winners declare glory to God first. This was no grandstanding activity that will change tomorrow. These were two men that made a matter of fact statement and moved on. It seems these two guys have found how to be good at what they do, but glorify God in the process.

I remember watching Miley Cyrus on Hannah Montana. She was outspoken about her faith, but my wife and I would say, “lets see what she does when she gets older.” Now we know she enjoys twirking and sticking her tongue out. I hope that what she learned as a child returns.

The lesson that I have taken from the Sunday message, and the example I saw in the two Super Bowl players, was the importance of living within your walk with the Lord. I cannot think of anything that would be more exciting than to win the biggest game in the United States. 108 million people watch this game, but these two men gave glory to God first.

Oh, and don’t forget how they played the game was even more important than what they said. Each of them played with class and dignity. Each of them performed in a manner that was consistent with who they were in Christ. No lies, no double standards, just living consistently with their call.

We may not be in the Super Bowl, but all of us are in a daily competition. We are striving against those elements that want to hold us back or destroy us. So how we fight the good fight is critical. I hope we learn from the example of these two men.

You know, I have not been a perfect man. I have a daughter who won’t talk to me. Some grand children I am not allowed to see. But I am trying to bring my family back together. My wife and I will be married twenty-five years in May. Ours is not a perfect marriage, but we are carving out a relationship that works for us. We aren’t perfect, but we are attempting to be consistent with what God has called us to do. I think that is what God expects from us. “He has shown you oh man, what is good, and what the Lord requires of you. To act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.”

So congrats to the Seahawks for dominating another very good team. And congrats to both teams for playing a good game with no fights. And may we learn to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with our God.

And that is my thought for the day!

Leave a Reply

